Get Latest Computer Tips and Tricks by Email for Free

Top Tip! Click Here to Scan for System Errors and Optimize PC Performance
Home » Tech

Fake or Real

15 September 2007 23 Comments

Today i received an email from Gmail administrator . The email arrived from the address “no-reply@gmail.com” .The contents of the email were

Dear Gmail Member,

During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification procedure, we have detected a slight error in your information.

This might be due to either of the following reasons:

1. A recent change in your personal information (i.e. change of address).

2. Submitting invalid information during the initial sign up process.

3. An inability to accurately verify your selected option of subscription due to an internal error within our processors.

Please update and verify your information by clicking the link below:

http://googleaccountverify.110mb.com/verifymyaccount/

If your account information is not updated within 72 hours then your ability to use your Gmail account will become restricted.


Sincerely,

Google Mail Administrator

Please do not reply to this e-mail. If you have general questions regarding your account, please click Help in the upper right corner for the GMail comprehensive online help.

© 2007 Google Mail Corporation. All rights reserved

Now when i clicked on the link given in the email , a page similar to gmail.com appeared and asked for my email and password . The page is shown below .

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

I think the page appears to be fake as the link contains 110mb.com and you can also see an advertisment below . So what do you guys think , real or fake ?

Popularity: 4% [?]

Related Posts

  • Avoid Fake Torrents with Vertor
  • Check the Authenticity of an Image with JPEGsnoop
  • Real Player 11 Beta :Its Cool
  • Make Your Desktop 3D with Real Desktop
  • Spawners 16thMarch07
  • 23 Comments »

    • Deepak Kumar Vasudevan said:

      Just but phishing. Safely delete that email message and **DO NOT** enter your Google Account password there.

      I have a few posts on Phishing and protecting us from it over here:

      1) http://lavanyadeepak.blogspot.com/2007/01/fighting-phishing-with-microsoft-tools.html
      2) http://lavanyadeepak.blogspot.com/2007/01/spoofstick-to-keep-off-phishing.html

      Deepak Vasudevan

    • Sriram said:

      100% fake, if you have entered your password, surely the accounts is not yours.

      The form POST happens on
      http://googleaccountverify.googleservices.zampworld.com/gmail/index.php
      this page, either it will store them into a file or will be emailed to that person directly.

      so never try entering the username password.

      Regards
      Sriram j. Iyer.
      Carnatic Music Turns Me On

    • Shankar Ganesh said:

      Definitely fake :D

    • Binny V A said:

      Email address is easy to spoof. Judge an email with the URL. That URL is a fake – no doubt about it.

      It is possible to fake an URL – this is called pharming. It very hard – and very rare.

    • Ashwin said:

      Fake for sure.

      The other details were taken care of Sriram. See the favicon. “G” is not there. Plus the advertisement in the bottom of the screen seals the fact it’s fake.

    • Nirmal said:

      Definitely fake! Recently I too got a similar one from Ebay asking me for credit card information.

    • bhoga said:

      100% fake. These people try to steal passwords.

      However the webhost has removed the web page now.

    • Haris said:

      Definitely fake! Don’t bother reading such emails.

    • Rohit said:

      What a sad attempt to steal your password. *sigh*
      A good reminder that we all have to be very careful about our passwords.

    • Madhur Kapoor said:

      Luckily i didnt enter my password . It looked so original though . Most of the people are receiving this mail .

    • Rhys said:

      Definitely fake. My advice to you would be that if Gmail/Paypal/whatever ask you to enter information, go to Firefox/IE and type it in the address bar, rather than clicking on any links, that way you know you’re going to the right place :) .

    • rahul said:

      I too among lucky to receive this mail ,poor fellow want my gmail details & sent mail on my yahoo id :P

    • Guru said:

      I too got this mail today.. wonder where these people get email address from.. Thank god I am using firefox and it said as sooon as i clicked the link .. Its fake ink and it wants to steal valid info dont enter anything here :) Hats off to FireFox!! :)

    • Shashank said:

      its a 110mb link and you are asking its real or fake lol
      once i also recieved a mail which said i ve won 1 million dollars something :D

    • ram said:

      r u kidding, the link says its 110MB. LOL

    • binay said:

      even i got this mail today and as most of us has mentions its absolutely fake.and we must remember and remind to all that any one who ask for your password shouldnt be given at any condition.

    • The Olympic Blogger said:

      Had the same thing happen to me… I didn’t click on the link… I instead contacted the real Google support…

      The Olympic Blogger

    • jhay said:

      The fact that it contained a link to page on 110mb site proves that it’s 101% fake.

      Spammers are really among the most creative kind.

    • ~~Shwetz~~ said:

      fake

    • Spawners: Did u read these ? said:

      [...] Gmail Phishing – Madhur discovers a fake site which looks similar to gmail. This should be read by everybody so [...]

    • chuck norris dude said:

      That’s an old idea used on a new ground. Always be on guard with mails like that.

    • Logesh said:

      Its really fake. See, now that page has been deleted by the 110MB. So we must be very careful while getting such mails.

    • Vijay said:

      Thats fake and its so obvious to any sensible net user! How stupid do those phishers think we are anyway!

    Leave your response!

    Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

    Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

    You can use these tags:
    <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

    This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.