Fake or Real



Today i received an email from Gmail administrator . The email arrived from the address “no-reply@gmail.com” .The contents of the email were

Dear Gmail Member,

During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification procedure, we have detected a slight error in your information.

This might be due to either of the following reasons:

1. A recent change in your personal information (i.e. change of address).

2. Submitting invalid information during the initial sign up process.

3. An inability to accurately verify your selected option of subscription due to an internal error within our processors.

Please update and verify your information by clicking the link below:

http://googleaccountverify.110mb.com/verifymyaccount/

If your account information is not updated within 72 hours then your ability to use your Gmail account will become restricted.

Sincerely,

Google Mail Administrator

Please do not reply to this e-mail. If you have general questions regarding your account, please click Help in the upper right corner for the GMail comprehensive online help.

© 2007 Google Mail Corporation. All rights reserved

Now when i clicked on the link given in the email , a page similar to gmail.com appeared and asked for my email and password . The page is shown below .

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

I think the page appears to be fake as the link contains 110mb.com and you can also see an advertisment below . So what do you guys think , real or fake ?

25 Comments

  1. Just but phishing. Safely delete that email message and **DO NOT** enter your Google Account password there.

    I have a few posts on Phishing and protecting us from it over here:

    1) http://lavanyadeepak.blogspot.com/2007/01/fighting-phishing-with-microsoft-tools.html
    2) http://lavanyadeepak.blogspot.com/2007/01/spoofstick-to-keep-off-phishing.html

    Deepak Vasudevan

  2. Sriram says:

    100% fake, if you have entered your password, surely the accounts is not yours.

    The form POST happens on
    http://googleaccountverify.googleservices.zampworld.com/gmail/index.php
    this page, either it will store them into a file or will be emailed to that person directly.

    so never try entering the username password.

    Regards
    Sriram j. Iyer.
    Carnatic Music Turns Me On

  3. Binny V A says:

    Email address is easy to spoof. Judge an email with the URL. That URL is a fake – no doubt about it.

    It is possible to fake an URL – this is called pharming. It very hard – and very rare.

  4. Ashwin says:

    Fake for sure.

    The other details were taken care of Sriram. See the favicon. “G” is not there. Plus the advertisement in the bottom of the screen seals the fact it’s fake.

  5. Nirmal says:

    Definitely fake! Recently I too got a similar one from Ebay asking me for credit card information.

  6. bhoga says:

    100% fake. These people try to steal passwords.

    However the webhost has removed the web page now.

  7. Haris says:

    Definitely fake! Don’t bother reading such emails.

  8. Rohit says:

    What a sad attempt to steal your password. *sigh*
    A good reminder that we all have to be very careful about our passwords.

  9. Luckily i didnt enter my password . It looked so original though . Most of the people are receiving this mail .

Leave a Reply

* Copy this password:

* Type or paste password here: