Fake or Real



Today i received an email from Gmail administrator . The email arrived from the address “no-reply@gmail.com” .The contents of the email were

Dear Gmail Member,

During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification procedure, we have detected a slight error in your information.

This might be due to either of the following reasons:

1. A recent change in your personal information (i.e. change of address).

2. Submitting invalid information during the initial sign up process.

3. An inability to accurately verify your selected option of subscription due to an internal error within our processors.

Please update and verify your information by clicking the link below:

http://googleaccountverify.110mb.com/verifymyaccount/

If your account information is not updated within 72 hours then your ability to use your Gmail account will become restricted.

Sincerely,

Google Mail Administrator

Please do not reply to this e-mail. If you have general questions regarding your account, please click Help in the upper right corner for the GMail comprehensive online help.

© 2007 Google Mail Corporation. All rights reserved

Now when i clicked on the link given in the email , a page similar to gmail.com appeared and asked for my email and password . The page is shown below .

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

I think the page appears to be fake as the link contains 110mb.com and you can also see an advertisment below . So what do you guys think , real or fake ?

25 Comments

  1. Rhys says:

    Definitely fake. My advice to you would be that if Gmail/Paypal/whatever ask you to enter information, go to Firefox/IE and type it in the address bar, rather than clicking on any links, that way you know you’re going to the right place :) .

  2. rahul says:

    I too among lucky to receive this mail ,poor fellow want my gmail details & sent mail on my yahoo id :P

  3. Guru says:

    I too got this mail today.. wonder where these people get email address from.. Thank god I am using firefox and it said as sooon as i clicked the link .. Its fake ink and it wants to steal valid info dont enter anything here :) Hats off to FireFox!! :)

  4. Shashank says:

    its a 110mb link and you are asking its real or fake lol
    once i also recieved a mail which said i ve won 1 million dollars something :D

  5. ram says:

    r u kidding, the link says its 110MB. LOL

  6. binay says:

    even i got this mail today and as most of us has mentions its absolutely fake.and we must remember and remind to all that any one who ask for your password shouldnt be given at any condition.

  7. Had the same thing happen to me… I didn’t click on the link… I instead contacted the real Google support…

    The Olympic Blogger

  8. jhay says:

    The fact that it contained a link to page on 110mb site proves that it’s 101% fake.

    Spammers are really among the most creative kind.

  9. [...] Gmail Phishing – Madhur discovers a fake site which looks similar to gmail. This should be read by everybody so [...]

Leave a Reply

* Copy this password:

* Type or paste password here: